Awards for SSSD 2022


Young  Investigator  Awards

The Scandinavian Society for the Study of Diabetes (SSSD) Young Investigator Awards are given to two young investigators who have published an important paper within the field of experimental or clinical diabetes research. The Young Investigator Awards (10 000 Norwegian kroner each) will be awarded at the meeting in Reykjavik in May 2022. The criteria are: 

  1. The candidates for the award should be 35 years or younger by December 31, 2021.

  2. The paper should have been published during 2021. The candidate should be the first author of the paper, and should be affiliated to a Nordic institution.

  3. An application for the award sent by the candidate, including date of birth, should be sent together with a pdf copy of the paper electronically to the Chair of the Society  Bjørn Olav Åsvold, to arrive not later than January 15, 2022. 

  4. The award winners will be notified by the middle of February 2022. The award is contingent upon the awardee presenting her/his paper during a 15 min presentation at the annual SSSD meeting in Reykjavik in May 2022. Travel and meeting expenses will be covered separately.​

The Knud Lundbæk Award


All members of the Scandinavian Society for the Study of Diabetes (SSSD) are allowed to nominate prize winners. 

Eligible to receive the prize are researchers who have provided important contributions within the field of experimental or clinical diabetes research. The main part of the research to be evaluated should have been performed in the Nordic countries. The prize winner will be selected by the members of the board of the SSSD. 

Nominations should be sent electronically to Bjørn Olav Åsvold,, to arrive not later than December 15, 2021. Nominations should include name and address of the suggested prize winner, a short CV with publication list, name of the nominating person and arguments for the choice.

The prize winner will deliver the Knud Lundbæk lecture at the SSSD meeting in Reykjavik in May 2022. The prize includes 20 000 Norwegian kroner as well as travel and meeting expenses.























































Previous recipients of the Knud Lundbæk Award:



1985     Ruth Østerby

1986     Carl-Erik Mogensen

1987     Arne Andersson

1988     Hans-Henrik Parving

1989     Niels Schwartz Sørensen

1990     Ulf J. Eriksson

1991     Torsten Deckert

1992     Marja-Riitta Taskinen

1993     Gisela Dahlqvist

1994     Kristian F. Hanssen

1995     Veikko Koivisto

1996     Stellan Sandler

1997     Henning Beck-Nielsen

1998     Markku Laakso

1999     Mikael Knip

2000     Oluf B. Pedersen

2001     Thomas Mandrup-Poulsen

2002     Leif Groop

2003     Oddmund Søvik

2004     Hans Ørskov

2005     Patrik Rorsman

2006     Jørn Nerup

2007     Allan Flyvbjerg

2008     Bo Ahrén

2009     Jens Juul Holst

2010     Pirjo Nuutila

2011     Juleen Zierath

2012     Allan Waag

2013     Elisabeth Mathiesen

2014     Johnny Ludvigsson

2015     Erik Renström

2016     Per-Ola Carlsson

2017     Peter Rossing

2018     Valdemar Grill

2019     Torben Hansen

2020      Åke Lernmark


Daniel Espes, recipient of the 2018 Young Investigator Award at the SSSD meeting in Turku.


Novo Nordisk Foundation Lecture Prize 2017

Susanne Mandrup was awarded the 2017 Novo Nordisk Foundation Lecture prize at the SSSD meeting in Nyborg. Here together with Laszlo Hegedüs from the Novo Nordisk Foundation.

Susanne Mandrup.jpg

Knud Lundbæk Award 2018

Valdemar Grill, recipient of the 2018 Knud Lundbæk Award at the SSSD meeting in Turku pictured with Bjørn Olav Åsvold.


Knud Lundbæk Award 2017

Peter Rossing, recipient of the 2017 Knud Lundbæk Award SSSD meeting in Nyborg.

Peter Rossling.jpg